Every year thousands of car accidents take place in Utah. If you drive a car in this state, it is better to know the accident laws. When you understand the accident laws, you can easily file your insurance claim after an accident.
In any traffic accident, if you get injured or your car is damaged, you have options to get an insurance claim or compensation from the other vehicle.
What should you do right after you met with a car accident?
Right after a car accident, the first thing you must do is to check if the passengers are all right. If anyone has a serious injury, call 911 to ensure emergency medical attention to the person.
Then, if possible, pull your car to the side of the road. This will ensure that there is no traffic inconvenience because of you.
If the car collision is serious, police will arrive at the accident spot. The law enforcement officer will proceed with the case filing an accident report on the spot. If the police think further investigation is necessary, the report will be submitted within ten days.
Insurance Law in Utah:
If you drive a car in Utah without insurance, you may have to pay a hefty fine of $400. Even your license may get canceled.
In Utah, car accident laws are pretty straightforward if you are involved in a car collision. If the accident has caused damage or injury, you will file a claim through your insurance company.
Utah emphasizes drivers carrying personal injury protection coverage worth at least $3000. Though there are so many laws for not having insurance, some drivers still drive without it. If an uninsured driver gets involved in a collision, things get complicated for him to claim reimbursement. In such cases, they may take help from car accident lawyers. If you are injured in a car accident and face trouble filing an insurance claim, Moxie Law Group is just a phone call away.